Welcome to the Union Area Chamber of Commerce serving Maine's Inland Midcoast.
About the Union Area & the UACOC
Union Area Chamber of Commerce Menu.


The towns and villages that make up our membership area are located in Maine's scenic inland midcoast area. Rolling green fields and a backdrop of purple hills are dotted with working farms – a reminder and continuance of our agricultural heritage. We are proud to be out in the country!

Traveling along meandering roads you will see blueberry fields, apple orchards, sparkling lakes and ponds tucked into the forest. Both the Medomak and St. George, two pristine rivers, flow through our area as they rush toward the sea.

The towns within our membership area are prime examples of classic rural northern New England village settings with historically significant homes and small businesses clustered within a picturesque village center or on a town green. The towns of Appleton, Union, Waldoboro, Warren and Washington were established prior to the American Revolution and Hope was established shortly afterwards.

The major routes through the inland midcoast are Rt. 17 (east/west Rockland to Augusta), Rt 131 (north/south Warren to Searsmont) and Rt. 220 (north/south Waldoboro to Washington) and Rt. 235 (northeast/southwest Waldoboro to Hope).

Our areas are well served with cell phone signal, cable tv (where available) and relialable telephone, internet service & electricity.  Our schools are modern; there are small grocery stores dotted around. 

We have excellent restaurants and farmers markets in the area in addition to several banks and convenience stores.  Each town has outstanding libraries.

Union is centrally located to Augusta, Waldoboro, Rockland/Camden and Belfast offering the ability to do business in multi-directions easily.

Appleton is located in the northern hills of Knox county- first known as "McLain's Mills" for lumber mills located on the St. George's River.

Hope was originally settled in the 1780's. In 1785, Charles Barrett's land dealings with the Proprietors from Boston lead to the surveying of Hope into established lots.

Union was settled in 1774 as Taylortown and later called Sterlingtown until its incorporation in 1786, uniting the villages that lie north, east and south with the central settlement around the Common in a spirit of harmonious "Union".

Waldoboro, located on the Medomak River, was also part of the Waldo Patent purchased about 1720 by General Samuel Waldo of Boston. First called Broad Bay, the village was settled between 1733-1740.

Warren was originally part of the Waldo Patent and first settled by Europeans in 1736 under the auspices of General Samuel Waldo. It was originally called the Upper Town of St. Georges Plantation.

Washington was settled in 1775 and incorporated in 1811 then known as Putnam named after Isreal Putnam, who was a minuteman and leader during the Revolutionary War.

Over the Years:
1955 - Reorganized from the 1894 Union Board of Trade.
1958 - Annual Tree Lighting on the Union Common began and continues to this day.
Chinese Elms set outside Thompson Community Center.
Public Saftey activities.
Sponsorships and donations to Soap Box Derby, High School Band, "The Community Betterment.
Program", directions and street signs, Good Citizen plaque to a UHS Senior, Student Scholarships, Built the Little League field at the Fairgrounds, created and maintained Ayer Park with fireplaces and picnic tables.
Printed Union Brochures, Created the Map & Guide, Developed 3 websites, Built the Kiosk.
Sponsored Union Cleanup Day and a youth recreation program at the Thompson Memorial Building.

Promoted new and existing businesses in the area.

Home   Members   Membership Benefits   Join the Chamber   Map & Guide   News   Events   About
Site design: Appleton Ridge Technology Services, LLC.
© 2016 Union Area Chamber of Commerce, Union Maine. All rights reserved.